Here's the Complete List of SAMA Nominees

Nasty C is leading the pack

This year’s SAMA nominees were announced on Thursday at Destiny Exclusive Hotel in Kempton Park, and we are completely in awe of how much phenomenal talent we have in South Africa. There are artists we’ve been loving since we were 14, newbies who have stolen our hearts, and local artists who are making a name for themselves all over the world.

Here is the complete list of categories and nominees. Once you’ve had your mind blown by how extensive and amazing this list is, and YouTubed some music videos (have you seen Nasty C’s Good Girls video yet??), tell us who you think is going to walk away with the Best Album of the Year award at @CosmopolitanSA.

Best Newcomer of the Year
Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’ilanga
Babes Wodumo  – Gqom Queen Vol 1
Sketchy Bongo- Unmasked
Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions
Amanda Black – Amazulu

Best Duo/Group of the Year
The Soil – The Soil
Jaziel Brothers – Jaziel Brothers
Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’ilanga
The Parlotones – Trinkets, Relics & Heirlooms
Black Motion – Ya Badimo

Best Female Artist of the Year
Lebo Sekgobela – Restored
Babes Wodumo  – Gqom Queen Vol 1
Kelly Khumalo – My Truth
Amanda Black – Amazulu
Thandiswa – Belede

Best Male Artist of the Year
Dr Tumi – Heart Of A King
Kwesta – Dakar II
Musa  – Musa
Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions
Nathi – Umbulelo Wam

Best Album of the Year
Kwesta – Dakar II
Black Motion – Ya Badimo
Amanda Black – Amazulu
Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions
Thandiswa – Belede

Best Rock Album
The Sweet Resistance – Where There Is Hope
Lost & Found – Lost & Found
Richard Stirton – Middle Ground
The Parlotones – Trinkets, Relics & Heirlooms
Albert Frost – The Wake Up

Best Pop Album
Matthew Mole – Run
Locnville – Taste The Weekend
GoodLuck – The Nature Within
Sketchy Bongo – Unmasked
TiMO ODV – Origins (digital edition)

Beste Pop Album
4Werke – 4 Warm
ADAM – Hoogtevrees
Dewald Wasserfall – Jy Is Die Storm
Kurt Darren – Sal Jy Met My Dans
Snotkop – HKGK

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Elvis Blue – Optics
Hugh Masekela – No Borders
Majozi – Fire
Mango Groove – Faces To The Sun
Msaki – Zaneliza: How The Water Moves

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Adam Tas – Patatas En Pyptabak
Coenie de Villiers – Emoji
Joshua na die Reën – Die Wêreld Binne My
Refentse – My Hart Bly In ‘n Taal
Ricus Nel – Ouskool Boerseun

Best African Adult Album
Dumza Maswana – Molo
Kelly Khumalo – My Truth
Nathi – Umbulelo Wam
Nozipho – Thando
Soul Kulture – Ngeliny’ilanga

Best Alternative Music Album
Arno Carstens – Die Aandblom 13
Chris Chameleon – Firmament
Native Young – Kings
Somerfaan – Alien Boogie Stuff
Tailor – Trust Part 1

Best R&B Soul Reggae Album
Afrotraction – Love and respect
Amanda Black – Amazulu
Brenda Mtambo – So Much More
Karabo – Matters Of The Heart
Tima Reece – 9

Best Rap Album
A Reece – Paradise
Khuli Chana – One Source
Kwesta – Dakar II
Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions
Stogie T – Stogie T

Best Kwaito Album
Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen Vol 1
Bullistic – NWO (New World Order)
Dr Malinga – Goodwill
Taylor K – Paper Chase
Trademark & Zinhle Ngidi – Trademark & Zinhle Ngidi

Best Dance Album
DJ Clock – The 5th Tick
Black Motion – Ya Badimo
Durbans’ Finest – Durbans’ Finest – Reloaded
Mobi Dixon – Live The Music
NaakMusiQ – Born to Entertain

Best Traditional Faith Music Album
Deborah Fraser – Uhambo
Sfiso Ncwane – Wethembekile Baba
Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol 6
Teboho – Nkutlwele Bohloko
Zaza – Blowing The Horn Of Chronicle

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Dr Tumi – Heart Of A King
Dr Tumi – Love And Grace
Khaya Mthethwa – The Dawn
Lebo Sekgobela – Restored
We Will Worship – Mmuso

Best Traditional Music Album
Candy – Easy Come Easy Go
Dr Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters – Shimatsatsa No 34: Xiganga
Mmaausi – Monna Oa Sokelwa
Qadasi & Maqhinga – Lashis’ Ilanga
Shabalala Rhythm – Yebo Ngiyavuma

Best Maskandi Album
Imfez’emnyama – Monalisa
imithente – S’yawuvala Umlomo
Khuzani – Inyoni Yomthakathi
Shwi noMtekhala – Kwabhalwa Etsheni
Thokozani Langa – Amabrazo

Best Jazz Album
Darren English – Imagine Nation
Dave Reynolds & Pops Mohamed – Live In Grahamstown
Nduduzo Makhathini with Umgidi Trio And One Voice Vocal Ensemble – Inner Dimensions
Sydney Mavundla – Luhambo
Thandiswa – Belede

Classical Instrumental Album
Bongani Radebe – Buyelekhaya Sax Rendition 
Charl du Plessis Trio – Baroqueswing Vol II
Imilonji KaNtu Choral Society – And Then I Heard A Voice by SJ Khosa
The Voice of Angels – The Voice of Angels Vol 2
University Of Pretoria – Love And War

Best Afro Pop Album
Jaziel Brothers – Jaziel Brothers
Musa – Musa
Robbie Malinga – Robbie Malinga
The Soil – The Soil
Vusi Nova – Vusi Nova

African Indigenous Gospel Album
Amadodana Ase Wesile – Amadodana Ase Wesile
Jerusalema E Ncha – Jerusalema E Ncha
Lejwe la Motheo – Lejwe la Motheo
Living In Christ Legends – Living In Christ Legends
T.C.C.C Mass Choir – T.C.C.C Mass Choir

Best African Artist
Jah Prayzah – Jah Prayzah
Oliver Mtukudzi – Oliver Mtukudzi
Patoranking – Patoranking
Vee Mampeezy – Vee Mampeezy
Vuyo Katsha – Vuyo Katsha

Live Audio Visual Recording Album
Joyous Celebration – Joyous Celebration 20 – Part 2 – The Alumni
Joyous Celebration – Joyous Celebration 20 Live at The Moses Mabhida Stadium
Khaya Mthethwa – The Dawn
Krone & Various Artists – Krone 3 DVD
Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol 6

Best Collaboration Album
Black Coffee – Your Eyes
Kwesta ft DJ Bucks, Okmalumkoolkat & DJ Maphorisa – Mayibabo ft DJ Bucks, Okmalumkoolkat & DJ Maphorisa
Kwesta – Ngud’
Miss Pru – Ameni
Musa – Mthande

Best Music Video of the Year
Khuli Chana – One Source
Miss Pru – Ameni
Nasty C – Don’t Do It
Nasty C – Good Girls
Reason ft AKA & Khuli Chana – Yipikayay

Best Produced Album
Afrotraction – Love And Respect
Brenda Mtambo – So Much More
Matthew Mole – Run
Rubber Duc – The Secret Sun
Sjava – Isina Muva

Best Engineered Album
The Soil – Echoes Of Kofifi
Arno Carstens – Aandblom 13
Mango Groove – Faces To The Sun
Jesse Clegg – Things Unseen
LeAnne Dlamini – Warrior

Remix of the Year
Distruction Boys – Wololo (Dbanj Remix)
DJ Mizz – Close To You (Mizz Afro Remix)
Evida – The Woods (Evida Remix)
Kyle Deutsch – Can’t Get Enough (Official Remix)
Vic – Wena Wedwa (MusicCraftMAN Mix)

With Nasty C and Babes Wodumo leading the pack, we can’t wait to see what’s going to happen. The SAMAs ceremony will be held at Sun City on 27 May and will be broadcast live on SABC 1.

Read more entertainment.

More From

Celebs & News

Celebs & News 09 Mar 2018 SHARE
Danai Gurira, Reese Witherspoon and SA’s Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka Discussed Female Empowerment
Celebs & News 20 Feb 2018 SHARE
Khloé Kardashian Reveals Pregnancy Struggles
Celebs & News 19 Feb 2018 SHARE
Cassper Nyovest and Jason Derulo Are Collaborating on a 2018 FIFA World Cup Song!